When Background App Refresh is turned for a specific app, that app has permission to download new information even when it's not open on your iPhone.

Why Should I Turn Off Background App Refresh?

Leaving Background App Refresh on for many apps can significantly drain your iPhone's battery life because the apps will use your connection to Wi-Fi or data network to constantly download new data or information.

I recommend going through your apps one-by-one and determining which ones you want to allow to download new content even when you're not currently using it.

How Do I Turn Off Background App Refresh?

  1. Open the Settings app.
  2. Tap General.
  3. Tap Background App Refresh.
  4. Tap the switch next to the apps that you want to turn off Background App Refresh on. You'll know Background App Refresh is off on a particular app when its switch is gray and positioned to the left.