Every time your iPhone connects to a Wi-Fi network for the first time, it saves information about how to connect to that Wi-Fi network. However, things can change on your wireless router that your iPhone is unaware of.

If your iPhone is unaware of the changes, it may not be able to make a clean connection to the Wi-Fi network. Erasing the network entirely, we can compensate for any potential changes to the router and essentially "update" the Wi-Fi's network data on your iPhone.

Before erasing the network, make sure you write down your Wi-Fi password because you'll have to reenter it when you reconnect!

How Do I Forget My Wi-Fi Network And Reconnect?

  1. Open the Settings app.
  2. Tap Wi-Fi.
  3. Tap on the blue "i" information icon to the right of the Wi-Fi network you wish to forget.
  4. At the top of the screen, tap Forget This Network.
  5. Tap Forget when asked Forget Wi-Fi Network "(network name)" ?
  6. To reconnect to the Wi-Fi network, tap on it.
  7. Enter the password if the Wi-Fi network is password protected.